The California Paid Sick Leave Law, effective on January 1, 2015, requires all California employers regardless of size to provide at least 24 hours of paid sick leave per year to employees — including part-time, per diem, and temporary employees — who work 30 days or more in a calendar year. This law became effective on January 1, 2015; but an employee’s right to accrue and take paid sick leave under this law will not go into effect until July 1, 2015.
To qualify for sick leave, an employee must be working for an employer on or after January 1, 2015 for at least 30 days. The employee must also pass a 90-day employment period, commonly known as a “probationary period”, before the employee can actually take sick leave.
Beginning January 1, 2015, employers must notify all employees of their paid sick leave rights by posting details in a clearly visible location at the workplace as well by providing individualized notices where applicable.
If you would like to find out more about specific qualifying scenarios and/or how this new law affects you, please contact Benefits Planning Service at (949) 833-8187 or (800) 916-2012. We will be more than happy to assist you!